Explore the 2026 AI trends shaping UX research: MCPs, AI moderation & digital twins. Register for the webinar

Role-based access control

Understanding user roles in Condens helps ensure the right people have the appropriate access while keeping your research data secure. From Administrators who can manage users and workspaces to Viewers who can view insights without using a seat, this guide provides an overview of each role’s capabilities and limitations.

Use the table below to compare permissions and find the right setup for your team.

Admin

Non-research Admin

Contributor

Limited Access Contributor

Full Access Viewer

Viewer

Best suited for

ReOps, UXR Leads

ReOps, Procurement, IT Admins

UX Researchers, Product Design, Product Managers

Freelancers, agencies, external collaborators

Executives and Leadership, cross-functional partners

Wider organization, clients, external stakeholders

Plan availability

All plans

All plans

All plans

All plans

Business, Enterprise

Business, Enterprise

Paid seat

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

No

No

Manage users and billing

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

No

Invite users

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

Manage Workspaces

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

No

View all Workspaces

Yes

Yes

Only invited Workspaces

Only invited Workspaces

Only invited Workspaces

Only invited Workspaces

Add or manage integrations

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

No

Create Projects

Yes

No

Yes

No

No

No

View or edit Projects

Yes

View-only in Business, Enterprise, and some legacy plans

Can view and edit all Projects (unless access is revoked)

Can view and edit a Project only if invited

Can view all Projects (unless access is revoked), but can't edit

Can view a Project only if invited

Export Projects

Yes

No

Only if enabled by an Admin

No

No

No

View or edit all Participants

Yes

View-only in Business, Enterprise, and some legacy plans

Yes

Only Participants in Sessions they have access to

Only Participants in Sessions they have access to

Only Participants in Sessions they have access to

Access global Tags

Yes

View-only in Business, Enterprise, and some legacy plans

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Use global search

Yes

Yes, in Business, Enterprise, and some legacy plans

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Use AI search on Project or Session data

Yes

No

Yes

No

Enterprise only

Enterprise only

Upload and manage recordings

Yes

No

Yes

Only invited Projects

No

No

View or edit data (Sessions, Tags, Artifacts, etc.)

Full access to all data across Workspaces

View-only in Business, Enterprise, and some legacy plans

Full access to data in Projects they can access (unless access is revoked)

Only invited Projects

Can view data in all Projects (unless access is revoked), but can't edit

Only data in the Insights Magazine, unless invited to a specific Project

Comment

Yes

Yes, in Business, Enterprise, and some legacy plans

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

There are a few things to additionally note:

  • Limited Access Contributors, Full Access Viewers, and Viewers do not have access to the Participants section (the Participant Pool), but they can see Participants linked to specific Sessions they have access to.

  • Viewers can be granted access to Projects via the Project access settings. This way, they can see all raw data, Tags, and unpublished Artifacts of a Project they are invited to.

Deactivate or delete Users

Alternatively, you can set the user’s status to Inactive or Deleted:

  • Inactive users cannot log into Condens and do not count toward active user quotas. They can be reactivated at any time.

  • Deleted users are permanently removed from all workspaces and cannot log in. This action cannot be undone.

Workspace-wide access control options

Additionally, you can go to SETTINGS and then General Workspace settings to find more access control options. You can opt to:

  • Restrict workspace-wide configuration to Administrators only, so Contributors are not able to modify content and settings like editing the Magazine, Participant & Project information fields, Project templates, Artifacts types, and deleting Projects.

  • Restrict full access to Contributors and Administrators, so that other roles like Full Access Viewers cannot see all data in a workspace, but rather only see published Artifacts through the Magazine.

  • Allow Contributors to export Projects they have access to. This is off by default, so only Administrators can run a full Project export until it's turned on.

User Groups

User Groups are available in the enterprise subscription plan.

To bulk manage access permissions to Projects and Magazines, you can use User Groups. This makes tracking users, permissions, and seats easier.

Simply go to SETTINGS and select User groups. From there, you can create groups and add members. For example, for different teams, subsidiaries, or other stakeholder groups.

Then, for each Project or Magazine, you can assign access to the entire User Group in a few clicks, making it easy to ensure the right people can access the right insights. Click the when viewing a Project to specify Project access to a specific User Group.


Didn't find what you're looking for? Send us a message and we'll get back to you.